Live Vidchat “Ancient Ideas about Animals”.

For the final vidchat we’re going right back to the beginning. James Serpell appeared in the first episode to talk about the ideas that hunter-gatherers hold about animals, including hints of guilt over killing them.

We’re also joined by Nicholas Baker-Brian, the historian of religion in the ancient world  who told us about the Manichaeans. Their lost order of the “elect” maintained a vegan diet and persisted throughout the middle ages.

Please ask your questions of them or me about the whole sweep of vegetarian history. This is the final vidchat, after which I’ll be close to putting the captsone on this project.

I’ll be monitoring Twitter & Google chat for questions. (Tag @VeganOption or use the #VegHist hashtag. Or just email me at firstname-at-domainname).

Backers have a VIP invite to join the chat and ask your question yourself. (If you’d like to do this, let me know in advance and I can do a technical test to ensure it’ll work.)

We’ll be live on YouTube on Sat 17th March, at 10am PST, 1pm EST, and 6pm GMT. You can watch us at this link:

Tags: , , ,

Avatar for Ian McD

About Ian McD

I'm a British new media person with a passion for radio, and interested in the kind of stories best told when we see humans as part of the world of animal minds. I blogged about why I'm producing The Vegan Option.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

"The Vegan Option Vegetarianism: The Story So Far - A Radio History